Sarah

Spaghetti

I heard this spoken word poet do a TED talk that was wonderful…though, sadly, I find I cannot remember her last name to look her up again. All I remember is that she talked about being named Sarah.

‘Sarah’ has been a very popular name in the U.S. as well as countless other countries around the world. Variations on the name include  Sara, Sarai, Sari, Sadie, Zara, Amira, Armelle, Damita, Zarita, Gimbya, Nimeesha, Jahzara, Panchali, Farsiris, Parmida, Yepa, Tazanna, Umatilla, Wealote…………I could keep going.

It’s an extremely popular name partially due to the biblical Sarah/Sarai, wife of Abraham and mother of Isaac. It means “princess” in Hebrew.  According to nameberry.com, Sarah/Sara was in the Top 10 most popular baby names from 1978 to 2002. I was born in 1990, so there you go.

Anyway, this Poet Sarah from the TED talk performed an amazing poem at the end of her talk wherein she said something to the effect of–and, keep in mind, this is not a direct quote from her. I can’t find the talk video anymore–the following:

My mother named me Sarah. It’s a biblical name. Sarah was very old and had no children. Then God told her, “Sarah, you’re going to have a child.” She was around 90 years old. Having a child was an impossible feat.

God basically said to her, ‘Sarah, you’re going to do something impossible.’ And what did she do?

She laughed.

And laughed.

And laughed.

My mother named me Sarah to remind me that, when faced with the impossible, be brave enough to laugh, and then be brave enough to make the impossible happen.

I love this. It gave me a new outlook on a name that I disliked for the last 15-20 years. In my first class on my first day of my first year of high school, I was one of five Sarahs. We all laughed about it, asked about nicknames or middle names, and realized that four of us (myself included) were also Sarah Elizabeths.

Great.

Then the bell rang, first period ended…….and THREE of those Sarahs followed me to my second period. We all played violin.

Brilliant.

But that Poet Sarah, she made me rethink the name. She put a new twist on something that I always thought was too common, and she added some shine to something I always thought was too dull.

My name is Sarah, and I laugh in the face of the impossible. 

3 thoughts on “Sarah

Leave a Reply

