Business Sloth

SarahBeth and the Terrible, Horrible, No Good, Very Bad Day.

[This is a rant/stream of consciousness post. Please skip this, especially if you’re in a good mood.]

I think I should finally admit something. Aloud.

Okay, maybe not aloud. In print. (Because you can’t put anything on the internet that isn’t true, right?)

The thing is: I’m a freak. I got my driver’s license when I was 21. I’m buying my first car at the ripe old age of 22.

But you know what they don’t teach you in high school or undergrad?

HOW THE HELL YOU GO ABOUT BUYING A CAR.

No one teaches these things, you’re supposed to just figure it out.

YES, I realize people write articles about these things.

YES, I realize that usually your parents buy your first car for you (or at least, they teach you how and go with you.)

But sometimes people forget that sometimes there are 22-year-old young women who sometimes don’t get their licenses until they are 21 and sometimes they have no idea how to purchase a car even though sometimes they get a tax return back that might sometimes be enough to finally afford a vehicle. But not often. Sometimes.

Today was car #2 that was a no-go. I spent $100 to have a mechanic tell me to keep looking. Then again, $100 is cheap for peace of mind, so that was a positive.

Now I’ve got cars #3-5 lined up, but I’m not letting myself fall in love with anything. “I’ve just been hurt too many times!” as they say on reality TV.

But really, our education system here in America is lacking. Significantly. <—- I realize that people say this all the time, for a myriad of reasons and/or complaints, but here’s mine:

Why don’t we have courses in high school that teach you how to function in America as an adult? With the number of kids without parents, with useless parents (for whatever reason), with drug-addicted parents, or the like…it’s a shame we don’t provide more opportunities for them to learn things like budgeting, filing taxes, buying a car, dealing with insurance, etc.

I’m lucky–I have a squad of people trying to help me navigate the used car world.

I’ve got my Matt, his fantastic parents, and my ever-wonderful Grandma. They’re all scoping out the used car lots; taking me to see loan officers, insurance handlers, and mechanics; and giving me plenty of advice and feedback. Because I have questions. Lots and lots and lots and lots and lots and lots and lots and lots and lots and lots and lots and lots and lots and lots and lots and lots and lots and lots and lots and lots and lots and lots and lots and lots and lots and lots and lots and lots and lots and lots and lots and lots and lots and lots and lots and lots and lots and lots and lots and lots and lots and lots and lots and lots and lots and lots of questions.

More to come.

One thought on “SarahBeth and the Terrible, Horrible, No Good, Very Bad Day.

  1. Why don’t they teach this in schools?
    I’ll tell you.
    It’s because our political system has failed us and we have failed one another. Over 50% of our domestic budget goes to defense, yet we can’t get text books for classrooms, music programs are non-existent, and teachers are losing 10,000 jobs due to the sequester. Fucking WHAT. Teachers are already overburdened with programs that threaten the very concept of education like standardized testing, which forces them to cater to the lowest common denominator in order to maintain their position, and they are bound by all kinds of ridiculous regulation on curriculum. In some places they still are prohibited from teaching evolution. In 2013. Apparently there is a plaque somewhere that says “separation of church and pulse rate” because you have to be dead from the neck up to not realize that public schools belong to the state, not the church.
    Of course you also have teacher’s wage rates, a laughable figure compared to most other professions. No wonder kids want to be rock stars, athletes, and movie gods. It’s where the money is. I also find it rather degrading that schools have to resort to sports teams for funding. People always lament that sports take such a priority. I myself had much pent up bitter recrimination about the emphasis on sports, but its a necessity for survival; something I failed to realize in my younger years.
    Then you have text book companies which are under no obligation to provide any sort of comprehensive view of any subject what so ever. Boy, I sure hope you like white people (I know I do.), because there are a lot of them in those text books. On top of that they have the freedom to charge whatever they wish because the state has to pay for it. But the people sure as hell don’t want to. In the 2012 election, my local government opted to raise taxes by 2% in order to update textbooks for k-12 in my area. The vote didn’t go through. 2% of what I make (which is roughly between 13-14k a year) is $288. A year. That is a week’s pay when you break it down. How cheap do you have to be to not want to invest a week’s pay into building a foundation for our country’s future education? It boggles my mind that we have failed one another, by irresponsibly voting putting the short term in priority over the long term and spending our nations budget on snuggies and pizza parties.
    By putting our kids in front of mind rotting TV programming with no emphasis on balance with educational programming. Instead of encouragement to excel in academia we see resistance, and I think this is due to undisciplined parents passing on habits to their children. Parents who don’t say to their kids that they are making their future with the decisions they are making by skipping homework assignments and dropping out of school. We have failed our nation’s children. It’s really all over but the finger pointing and the “I told you so’s.” Because at this point, there is no turning back, I think. Might as well just sit back and enjoy the show.

    As always,
    Baleful

Leave a Reply

