SarahMakesYouSmarter: Groundhog Day

groundhogday

IT’S ALMOST TIME FOR MY SECOND-FAVORITE FEBRUARY HOLIDAY!!!!!

(My favorite being, of course, the day Girl Scout cookies are delivered. If you thought I was going to say “Valentine’s Day” then you are adorable in your navïete so I love you anyway, but I hate Valentine’s Day. More on that later, though.)

GROUNDHOG DAY!

GROUNDHOG DAY!!!

GROUNDHOG DAY!!!!!!

TODAY’S LESSON: C.G.P. GREY EXPLAINS WHY GROUNDHOG DAY IS SO DAMN FANTASTIC.

I really hope you enjoy this as much as I do.

6 thoughts on “SarahMakesYouSmarter: Groundhog Day

  1. in addition to this being an awesome post and public service announcement, I’m loving that you tagged this as “adorable”, “lol”, and my favourite, “SarahMakesYouSmarter”. I’m also eager to know why you hate Valentines day in red.

    • Look how adorable that silly groundhog is! And MAYBE I’ll do a “Why I hate Stupidheartsday” post on Stupidheartsday itself. We’ll see.

      Question: Your thoughts on ‘favourite’ vs. ‘favorite’?

      • haha the anticipation will kill me! I need to know before the day gets here >_<

        And yeah, I generally tend to lean towards English, rather than American, spelling. Noah Webster, with his damnable chutzpah, arbitrarily reorganised the English language in his dictionary in the early 1800s, and so there's really no reason except precedent to favour one spelling over another, though I suppose languages tend to standardise through technology. In any case, I used to live in England, and as a staunch Anglophile, I will always prefer the English spelling =)

        that was rather long winded =/

        • I KNEW you were going to tell me you lived in England at one point or another! Called it! Yes, I do think language gets standardized over the internet, but it’s always interesting to me that a tiny difference like a little ‘u’ stands out in my mind. I feel like American English one day decided, “You know what? Fuck the letter ‘u’!” and tried its best to eradicate all unnecessary ‘u’s. The kicker here is that this new generation is bringing back the ‘u’ in a big way:
          “Omg, r u coming 2 the mall?”

          It’s so beautiful when things come full circle.

          • That’s one of the funniest posts I’ve ever read on here. Brilliant.

            And yeah, that’s basically what Webster did. So, I’m really pleased to see the ‘u’ making a return. U’ve been missed 😉

      • ….also, I used to live in an area rife with groundhogs. I suppose in Tennessee you get your fill of them as well. But more often than not, they’re causing traffic accidents or digging up your prized petunias.

Leave a Reply

